Youghiogheny Country Club
1901 Greenock-Buena Vista Road
McKeesport, PA 15135-2199
Contact via Email
Visit our Website
- Golf Course
- Banquet Facilities
- Pro Shop
- Fitness Center
Hours of Operation1901 Greenock Buena Vista Road Phone: 412-751-2943
Elizabeth Township, PA 15135 Fax: 412-751-2946
About UsSituated on a picturesque hillside landscape in Elizabeth Township, Youghiogheny Country Club has a spectacular view of the river below, which is where it got it’s name “Youghiogheny”” meaning “river with a bend.”
Youghiogheny Country Club formed when a group of golf enthusiasts purchased 107 acres in Elizabeth Township in April 1911. The property included a farmhouse, which was renovated and used as the member social center. The golf course originally opened with only four holes and later added two more holes. W.A. Cornelius, former manager of National Tube Works served as the club’s first president from 1911 until 1915.
The “Yough”, which is what it was commonly know as, and is still referred to as today, remained six holes until 1913 when the “front nine” was completed. In 1922, an additional 78 acres was purchased with the plans to build the “back nine.”
The architect for the back nine was Willie Park, Jr. from Scotland. He was not only a renowned golf course architect, but as a player had won the 1897 British Open and was the runner up in 1898, then won the Open again in 1899.
The completed 18-hole course was opened on July 4, 1922 and Taylor Allderdice, President of National Tube Company hit the first ball